Heading
- HomePlanning and Research Division Statewide Planning Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) Coordination

Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Coordination

The Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1962 required that transportation projects in Census‑designated urbanized areas of 50,000 or more in population be based on a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive or “3C” urban transportation planning process undertaken by the states and local governments as a condition attached to federal transportation financial assistance.  Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO's) are designated by the State’s Governor to conduct the 3C planning process in each urbanized area.   In Arkansas, these MPO's may be the boards of existing regional planning organizations or committees specially created for this purpose with city employees providing staff support.  In either case, the governing body of the MPO consists of elected officials representing local governments in the area plus representatives of local transit agencies and the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD).

The Metropolitan Planning Coordination (MPC) Office is the planning liaison between the Department and the eight MPOs in Arkansas. The MPC Office provides a point of contact for MPO staff seeking information and guidance on matters relating to AHTD projects in their area, interpreting and ensuring adherence to federal regulations, and planning matters in general. The MPC Office includes the following Department staff:

 

Paul Simms
Metropolitan Planning Coordinator

Phone: (501) 569-2100
Email: Paul.Simms@ahtd.ar.gov

Antonio Johnson
Transportation Planner

Phone: (501) 569-4996
Email: Antonio.Johnson@ahtd.ar.gov

Jennifer Jackson
Planning Contract Specialist

Phone: (501) 569-2114
Email: Jennifer.Jackson@ahtd.ar.gov

CENTRAL ARKANSAS REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION STUDY (CARTS)
MPO image

 

Metroplan
Jim McKenzie, Executive Director
 Email: mckenzie@metroplan.org

 

Richard Magee, Deputy Director of Transportation
 Email: magee@metroplan.org

 

Casey Covington, CARTS Study Director
 Email: covington@metroplan.org

 

501 W. Markham - Suite B 
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: (501) 372-3300
Website: http://www.metroplan.org

MPO image
FRONTIER METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION 
MPO image

Frontier Transportation Study (FRONTIER)
John Guthrie, Executive Director
Email: jguthrie@wapdd.org


Dianne Morrison, MPO Director
Email: dmorrison@wapdd.org

Cindy Hughes, Transportation Planner
Email: chughes@wapdd.org

 

1109 S. 16th Street
Fort Smith, AR  72902 
Phone: (479) 785-2651
Website:
http://www.frontiermpo.org/

MPO image
HOT SPRINGS AREA TRANSPORTATION STUDY (HSATS) 
MPO image

Tri-Lakes MPO
West Central Arkansas Planning and
Development District
Dwayne Pratt, Executive Director
Robert Tucker, Study Director
Email: rtucker@wcapdd.org

1000 Central Avenue
P.O. Box 6409
Hot Springs, AR  71902
Phone: (501) 525-7577
Website: http://www.wcapdd.org/  

JONESBORO AREA TRANSPORTATION STUDY (JATS) 
MPO image

City of Jonesboro
Patrick Dennis , Study Director
Email: pdennis@jonesboro.org

300 South Church Street
P.O. Box 1845
Jonesboro, AR  72403-1845
Phone: (870) 933-4623
Website: http://www.jonesboro.org/MPO/mpo.htm

MPO image
NORTHWEST ARKANSAS REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION STUDY (NARTS)
MPO image

Northwest Arkansas Regional Planning Commission
Jeff Hawkins, Executive Director
Email: jhawkins@nwarpc.org

John McLarty, Study Director
Email: jmclarty@nwarpc.org

1311 Clayton Street
Springdale, AR 72762
Phone:(479) 751-7125
Website: http://www.nwarpc.org

MPO image
PINE BLUFF AREA TRANSPORTATION STUDY (PBATS)
MPO image

Southeast Arkansas Regional Planning Commission
Larry Reynolds, Executive Director  
Email: larryreynolds@cablelynx.com

1300 Ohio Street
P.O. Box 8398
Pine Bluff, AR 71611
Phone: (870) 534-4247
Website: http://www.searpc.com

MPO image
TEXARKANA URBAN TRANSPORTATION STUDY (TUTS)

Texarkana Metropolitan Planning Organization
City of Texarkana, Texas
Alan Morrison, Study Director
Email: alan.morrison@txtkusa.org

220 Texas Blvd.
Texarkana, TX 75504 
Phone: (903) 798-3927
Website: http://www.texarkanampo.org

MPO image
WEST MEMPHIS - MARION AREA TRANSPORTATION STUDY (WMATS)
MPO image

City of West Memphis
Mayor William H. Johnson, Policy Committee Chairman
Eddie Brawley, Study Director
Email: ebrawley@sbcglobal.net

Bobby Williams, Transportation Planner
Email: bobbywilliams@sbcglobal.net

P.O. Box 1728
West Memphis, AR 72303
Phone:(870) 732-7500
Website: http://mpo.midsouthcc.edu

MPO image

 

 


 

Copyright 2007 AHTD
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Freedom of Information